M14 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started shooting Black Powder Cartridge Rifle (BPCR) Matches about two years ago. Had been shooting long range gong events for a couple years before that. Kept thinking this 40-yr-old deterioration is for the birds. I was past 60 and up to 2.5 readers but started to suspect something else so finally gave up and made an appointment.

Doctors usually try not to alarm patients but this guy comes in and tells me “I have terrible news”. Then proceeds to tell me I have 8% of my optic nerve left alive in my right eye; 25% in my left. He thinks I’ve had glaucoma for the last 16-18 yrs.

Well, I’m still shooting matches and still have a drivers licence. And with five drops a day in each eye of three different meds we think the progression is stabilized. But I have a reputation for taking longer to acquire a good sight-picture than most anyone on the line and have to rush the ejecting/rechambering to get thru my 10 shots per relay. If you imagine a circle for your rear aperture and then fuzz that line from another 5 o’clock to 11 o’clock that’s what takes me so long. Just glad I can still shoot and wish I’d have suspected something else besides the natural 40+ deterioration sooner.

·
Premium Member
1,112 Posts
Sorry to hear about your troubles. Glaucoma can steal your sight for sure. Somewhat surprised that you had not experienced any pain or discomfort. Typically, elevated interocular pressure is accompanied by some level of discomfort. Glad to hear that your ophthalmologist has been able to treat and stabilize your pressures and preserve your sight.

It is important to have annual or semi-annual eye health examinations even if you don't have a refractive error or wear glasses. A good doctor, providing a thorough exam, can detect many other non-eye related health issues early; diabetes, hypertension, etc.

Best of luck with your situation.

·
Registered
143 Posts