M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
Well today I finally said those three beeeeeeautiful words "I'll take it". I just got me (gotta wait for the transfer) a MA9103 with SAK barrel for $995!!!!! I'm pumped!!!! \:D/

I'd really really like to thank all youse hawgs that have helped me and given me input on all my pestering posts. In particular I'd like to thank Warbird, Snayper, Quagmire, Fred Smith and M1APreban for all the help via pm and Clayton Smith, Geoff Corn, Ted Brown, Charles Maloney, and the guys at Smith Enterprises for all the help via phone (can you tell I'm a grad student used to research? :oops: )

So now, here's the burning questions....

Where do I get good mags from (at a good price.) Are there any USGI contractors that made better mags than others? Are there any to avoid (I already know to stay FAR away from USA brand).

Assuming I'll have to replace some commercial parts with USGI, I assume I should start with the bolt and trigger group right? Are there any regular sources for these?

As far as stocks go, do I go SixTGunr or Karsten?

For ammo, Aussie or Port?

Slings, Cotton web, or leather?

Anything else?

Once again, THANKS YOU HAWGS!!!!!!!!

Rich

Oh, I almost forgot.............

WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
Glad you finally settled on one, I think you made a good choice. ;)

Those SAK chrome barrels are hard to find!

For a stock I'd go with Six.
I like port better than aussie (depends on which you rifle likes best though).
I like cotton slings, but the web ones are ok too.

Don't forget the small consumable spares (firing pin, extractor, ejector, trigger & hammer pins, etc...)

·
Registered
30 Posts
Congratulations on your new rifle. Youv'e made an excellant choice. Cole distributing (coledistributing.com) still has GI mags for $36.95 each. Buy as many as you can. They are becoming more scarce.

regards,
Gary

·
"Staff Alumni"