M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have wanted a 1911 for about 30 yrs. I have very little experience with pistols and value the opinions of many people on this forum. My question is which 1911 and why. Personal preference is a reason why. Any responses are appreciated.

·
Registered
4,299 Posts
Colt or #2 Springfield.

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
as above, whats your budget? if i were only ever going to have 1, and didnt mind paying for it, i would have Ted Yost of Heirloom precision build me a complete pistol. in a mid range budget i would have no reservations about whichever Les Baer tickled my fancy. on the lower end of the spectrum, there's actually a good all around selection to be had. its all in the budget!

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
that is a good idea. Buds sells a low end Tisa? they have sold thousands of them but I was leary of buying anything cheap

·
Registered
7,072 Posts
Well please don't buy some low end problem 1911, if it doesn't work it will really turn you off to 1911's. Spend a little more money and get somethingwith a decent reputation.. A Springfield or one of the Ruger SR 1911 would make a good first 1911. Also for a first 1911 a straight up Colt Government Model is hard to beat.
If you do go low end then buy one of the Rock Island 1911 they do have a pretty good reputation.

·
Registered
4,950 Posts
The rock island tactical gets you into the 1911 game for about 600 bucks. Extended beavertail, better sights, better trigger, it's a nice package.

I have very little experience with pistols
Does this mean you own a few but aren't a pistol guy or have never owned a semi-auto?

·
Registered
109 Posts
HGunner +1

·
Registered
4,299 Posts
Gov't Model for sure.

·
Administrator
17,385 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
I went with couple Colts in 45acp (govt, Commander & CCO) and 10 mm, a SA Loaded 45 acp and DWs in 10 & 9mm

·
Registered
704 Posts