M14 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just started refinishing the SM M1A that I got... the stock was bone dry and very dark!

What would be a good stain to use to bring out the golden grain in a SM Walnut stock? Or should I use a "red"? I did my NM with Red Mahogany and it looks beautiful... should I match the NM rifle or try something different... I know these are personal preferences, but I am curious to hear what others might have to say about it... I guess another choice might be to use NO stain... but I have never done a Walnut without a stain before... Hmmm????

The ultimate choice will be to send it to WhamoCamo and have it painted with a cool design but I thought I would "tinker" with refinishing her first and see...

Thanks in advance for any comments you might have!!!

Aloha and Best Wishes,

Tom O.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Tom,
I'm partial to Chesnut Ridge myself.

Regards

Ox

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Oxmix:

Is there anything similar to the stain by Chestnut Ridge? Apparently, I can't get any of the vendors to send some to Hawaii... I guess its new restrictions... Brownells stated that they would not be able to send stains, paints, or any material of that nature through standard shipping methods....

I appreciate your input and help... I just want to make this right the first time...

Thanks and Aloha,

Tom O.

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Oxmix: I just shot Chestnut Ridge an e-mail asking if they would ship it to Hawaii...

Since 9-11, there have been quite a few things that dealers have not been able to send to Hawaii... I think the stain might be a flammable substance...

Well, the stock is stripped (about as much as I want to go) and just waiting to see what, if anything, I will use as a stain prior to applying the finish...

Thanks again,

Tom O.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Tom,