M14 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3,214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am pretty much ready to dive on head first into bedding. I would like to ask you gentlemen/ladies opinion of what material to use for bedding an M1a? Does it matter if it's lugged or not as far as what material is preferred?

·
Registered
954 Posts
I use Marine Tex.
I've only bedded about 5 or 6 M1-A's and 2 M1's.
I'm no expert but it works for me.
None had lugs so I can't hep with that.

The titanium bedding compound is interesting but I have read it's a bit harder to work with than the Marine Tex (more runny if I remember right).

You will be amazed how much it does for the accuracy of the rifle.

pg
USA2

·
Registered
3,214 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
http://m14forum.com/m14/128315-bedding-rear-lug-gun-coat-hanger-way-pic-heavy.html

This thread is what really cleared it up for me. This gentleman uses Devcon. I like this because I think I can by it locally. Also I have some iron filings that I am considering adding to the epoxy. This material is about the consistency of very coarse sand. I think it was purchased to me use with a magnetic structure testing device. I found it at work and have a 5 gallon bucket of it.

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
I used a 'putty type' epoxy named PC-7, and it worked OK.

Using an epoxy that is too gooey and runs can be a real mess.
A stiff putty type epoxy is less trouble, and it's easy to to remove the 'squeeze-out' with a flat toothpick or popsicle stick.

Also make sure to have a long working time - stay away from quick-set epoxy.

Jay Kosta
Endwell NY USA

·
Registered
91 Posts
Bisonite Al, I have been using it for the last 35+ years. I have tried others but always come back to the Bisonite. I buy it in quarts.

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Everyone has a favorite and all should work well if applied right.