M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that the manufacturer will say that they are good for "X" amount of months, but does anyone really know for sure just how long they will last before going bad?

I swear I was eating C-Rats from the late 40's and early 50's in 1971. But, I have little knowledge on the shelf life of MRE's.

I intend on buying some to have on hand, but I have no idea how many I can safely buy because I do not know how long they will last on the shelf before going bad.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
6,385 Posts
I have some MRE meals that are 6 years old and still edible.

But for more sure shot long term storage I have Freeze dried meals in #10 cans that have a 35 year storage life.

·
Registered
2,148 Posts
More info

last year I consumed some of the mre's that i put away from my service in the mid 1980's when my boss Ronald Reagan was our commander ! I am still alive but I sometimes eat some very different (strange) stuff.growing up Euell Gibbons was one of the men I understood because he new about my favorite subjects FOOD ! some of the mre food was at least 25 years old. now the trioxane fuel bars did not survive when I opened them no bar left just some powder in the foil I do not know why the broke down but they did. any one know how long trioxane is good for ?

NRA LIFE MEMBER

U. S. ARMY VET

·
Registered
467 Posts
Be careful with MREs. Your garage is a TERRIBLE storage place for food, as it gets too hot.

Link to MRE data page

Shelf life is dramatically reduced when you get the MREs even a bit hot. I had some a few years ago that were three years old, but had been in my garage the whole time. They were NOT fit for consumption anymore, and I've got the gut of a billy goat.

·
Registered
110 Posts