M14 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm still a M1A rookie, and I've been doing some research trying to find a suitable optic for my SOCOM16.

I just discovered the new Strike Eagle scope that's supposed to be coming from Vortex sometime this summer. it's a 1-6x24 starting at $429. Did anyone get a chance to see one of these at SHOT Show this year, or has anything heard anything (good or bad) about the optic?

Also, do you have any other recommendations for other optics with a similar magnification at a similar price point?

http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vortex-strike-eagle-1-6x24-riflescope-ar-bdc-reticle
http://www.vortexoptics.com/uploads/web_manual_ret_strike-eagle_ar-bdc-moa.pdf

(Please check out the manual. I know it's marketed for .223 but it seems to be set up for .308 as well)

Thanks in advance for the help! Here's a photo of my work in progress:

·
Registered
826 Posts
I'm sure it will be a great optic coming from Vortex. I am very pleased with all their stuff. I am actually eager to put one of these on my wife's AR. Only other scope in that price range is the Primary Arms 1-6x24. It is a good scope as well but the durability and optics quality of the Vortex will likely be better.

·
Registered
844 Posts
The make good stuff, I have a 5-20 HD and that scope is awesome. But I think there's a typo on their page because it shows 280 MOA for that 1-6 scope. Also it is only showing a reticle with a BDC for a 5.56mm round. Which doesn't necessarily rule it out for a .308 but its designed for that round.

·
Registered
4,777 Posts