M14 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everybody. I am relatively new to the M14 platform but I have been shooting and collecting old surplus for many years now. I picked up a USGI stock for my Bula Defense M14. When I went to install the fake selector switch I noticed the stock has a crack on the outside running from the stock reinforcement bolt to near the selector cutout. From my research it seems like this is a common area for cracks on the M14 stocks?

I did a little more looking and found there is another crack on the inside of the stock running to and from the same location but it is running on a different plane than the other one. So neither crack goes all the way through the stock? If I push on the area on the outside of the stock above the crack I can just ever so slightly get the outside crack to spread a tiny bit.

My first question is this stock salvageable? If so does anyone on here have any recommendations on how to repair these cracks?
If I were to not repair the cracks I am guessing they would get worse? Or is this in a location that would only affect the hunk of wood that's right in front of the selector cut out?

Thank you all for your help with this. I was excited to get my rifle in some USGI wood so hopefully some of you M14 experts can point me in the right direction. See pictures below of the cracks in question.
Brown Wood Table Floor Window
Wood Bumper Material property Gas Musical instrument accessory

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
I would repair it, personally, but then I have been called stubborn and hard-headed before. :p I would also probably relegate the repaired and refinished stock to reserve duty, and replace it with an undamaged stock. But that's just me.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for your response. Any thoughts on how to go about repairing it? I have seen online people using super glue or warm Acraglas to repair hairline cracks like these?

·
Premium Member