M14 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
3,729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I stand corrected regarding my use of the Term Lapping, thank you. Your being a Pro, I bow to you knowledge.. The information that has come out in the Thread is good stuff, I have learned several things...

In all fairness to my Thread, there was no mention of correcting a Crown that was not true, nor mention of an attempt to correct an improper cut muzzle that was Crowned. I should have made that point clear, but I am doing the best possible. and do not resent being educated.

My M1A's usually get a full Service twice a year, complete break down short of pulling the barrels. The parts are cleaned and inspected, the main concern is to remove Carbon. The Crown is my major concern, since the Crowns are True before the barrels are installed, it becomes a task of removing Carbon, which to some extent builds up more on one rifle than the other. I remove this Carbon using the method described in the other Thread. The Handle off a Combo tool work fine for this clean up job. art MCORPS1

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
We have talked before obout how hard it is sometimes to get our ideas across in writing. I read your other post and thought "Thats not gonna do much more than a good cleaning job". I don't know what I was expecting, but obviously more. It seems some others thought you were trying to say it was a repair job.
I hope that after I write this it does not appear that I am giving Art crap, because I am not. I have a great deal of respect for his experience and knowledge. I read all the post from all of our armorrer's. Just because anyone of them makes a statement doesn't mean that it has biblical significance. However if your interested in learning about the care of these guns you'd be a fool not to listen when they say something.

·
"Death From Above"
11,646 Posts