M14 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm debating a more accurate upper for my RRA NM lower. I'm pretty sure I'll get a White Oak upper but my only concern is barrel life. I'm just a poor college student and can't afford both a competition AR and a plinking AR, but I would like to do both.

How long until the Match barrel found on any competition will burn out if I plink and compete?

Is there a barrel/upper that has great accuracy but still has a high round count before it needs to be replaced?

·
Registered
996 Posts
Sir, the standard barrel from WOA is a Wilson 1x7. They are great barrels and most folks replace them around the 3000 round count, sometimes less. They may still even hammer from the short lines with high round counts, but do lose their accuracy at 600. The beauty of Wilson barrels is that they cost half of what a Kreiger does. When it comes time to re-barrel just buy another Wilson and you'll be good to go. John Holliger uses Wilson's IIRC. Kreigers should last 4-5000 rounds, but you'll definitely pay extra for it. HTH

·
"Death From Above"
11,432 Posts
An example for your comparison shopping. I ordered a kriegers hbar and sent that along with a woa bcg to woa. I am haveing them build an 1/4x1/4 nm A2 upper for me with the free float tube they offer. The barrel was right around 400, the bcg was if I remember correctly 130 or so and the cost to build it with there parts to include a complete lower kit is 650. It should be done in a couple of weeks. Hope this helps with your decision.

·
Registered
558 Posts
Hey guys,
I'm debating a more accurate upper for my RRA NM lower. I'm pretty sure I'll get a White Oak upper but my only concern is barrel life. I'm just a poor college student and can't afford both a competition AR and a plinking AR, but I would like to do both.

How long until the Match barrel found on any competition will burn out if I plink and compete?