M14 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Yes...I am new to the M1a, maybe that explains it.

I have a SAI M1a standard, walnut stock. Had it for nearly a year, but finally ready to try it out. I've watched Tony's vids for disassembly and lubing/oiling and because he and others said it's a good idea to make sure lubrication is good even though new, that's what I'm trying to do.

But...I can't even get started as the trigger group won't budge. I can flip the trigger guard up and extend fully without difficulty:

But it doesn't just pull out. I seached forums and found a couple others with similar issue and have tried these recommendations:

--"Lock the bolt to the rear and with a punch seated on top of the mag. release," tap" with a light mallet, it will slip free. Art"

--"If the trigger guard IS fully open, then put a punch down the mag well onto the mag latch and tap it. Shouldn't take much at all. You really ought to be able to wiggle it out." From Caliber30

--And this: "If it's a new rifle with a wood stock, it is most likely stock oil holding the Trigger Assembly in place (assuming it is a Scout, Standard or Loaded model).

Pop the trigger guard, but don't open it. Try pulling the trigger. If the hammer falls, work the action to recock it and pull the trigger again.

Do it several times. Sometimes it will vibrate the Trigger Assembly loose.

The other trick is to pop the trigger guard and insert a magazine a few times." From KurtC

None of this has worked so far.

I also read these:

--"Theres a push pin that holds the tg parts into their housing that sometimes back out, and they can jab into the stock and keep the tg from removing. Are u sure this isnt the case? Look at a picture of a tg to see where these roll pins are, it is kinda rare but could be happening if a tap from the top wont pop it out."