M14 Forum banner

Tried a new range today!

851 views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  WaM14gunner 
#1 ·
Some may recall the range I have been shooting at for 30 years is closed for at least a year, perhaps forever for lead cleanup.
This left with me with basically 2 choices for ranges, one a half hour further north than where I was going making it at least an hour each way, or one to south about the same distance and time as the old one, so I tried it today.
Its called Marysville Rifle Club, basically a membership thing, but I found out looking at their website that they open to the public on Thursdays! So I drove down today to check it out.
I have in fact shot there before some years ago when my late dad was a member of the place, but I couldnt even remember how to get there without directions!

In some ways I like it better, other ways not but I suspect for the time being it will be my go to range. I do like that one can shoot at targes from 50 to 220 without having to move as one is shooting from an elevated position and downwards at 50 and 100 then more level further out, and they have a couple of gongs set up out there.
Benches have partitions between them which helps with brake blast and flying empties but does create an odd springy sounding blast, like BOINGGG! inside the cube.. takes a little getting used to. Its also covered which adds to that.

They did have one mandatory cease fire while I was right in the middle of a load with one rifle and they changed my target which was only half used, but oh well. They didnt charge me for dirtying up another one at least, maybe cause I was BS'ing with the RM while that was going on and I said something.

At times I was the only one shooting, the others who obviously know each other were having coffee and dognuts with their bull sessions, LOL.