M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A local shop just took in a sig 516 piston AR on trade. I know the gentleman that owned it and know that it was fired very little. I can get it for a very reasonable price. Anybody have any thoughts both positive or negative on these rifles? I have plenty of experience with regular AR 15. Just nothing with piston so I'm looking for opinions. Thanks

·
Registered
3,900 Posts
Can't speak for the SIG version but bought the Ruger SR 556 model and also have the gas tube version of 15 and for my purposes can't tell the difference performance wise. Straight gas system does dump some residue into the action and heat build up there as well, but I tend to do a cleaning job after each use of either type so not an issue. With severe(read combat application) I can see advantages for the piston design but for casual sport shooting, one works as good as the other for me. SIG is generally accepted as a quality product so if that type is desired, most likely a good one.

·
Registered
3,672 Posts
A solution looking for a problem. At least its made by a major manufacturer...........buy wear parts anyway if you buy it!

·
Registered
2,522 Posts
I have one, bought it to mount my can on. I like it, runs alot cleaner than a DI gun. If I had one complaint it would be that the gas block is canted so the rear back up sight is half way to one side when sighted in.

·
In the gilded halls of Valhala
13,515 Posts
I'd replace that gas block with a low profile and attach a forend of your preference.

It's a good reason to pick up an ar builders kit from wheeler or a set of reciever blocks and a torque wrench and roll pin kit.

·
Registered
3,822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'd replace that gas block with a low profile and attach a forend of your preference.

It's a good reason to pick up an ar builders kit from wheeler or a set of reciever blocks and a torque wrench and roll pin kit.