M14 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I realized that I haven't posted an intro, so here it goes. I finally got a M1A (scout squad) last month. I've been wanting one of these for years, and finally made the decision to pull the trigger,as it were.
By way of background, I'm a retired (2008) Marine Infantryman Master Sergeant --also PMI since '92 and Combat Marksmanship Instructor since '06. I've got tons of experience shooting the M16/M4 as well as the AK in peace and war (being on a training team for the Iraqi Army had me doing things that I haven't done since I was a Sergeant). I always wanted to have a chance on the shooting team, but deployment schedules precluded it -- I was a 12th award expert (never below 230 on the old range), and thought with instruction, I could be competitive. I had a chance to shoot the M14 once when I was out on a MEU - I was tasked with training the ship's security force in how to fight with the rifle, and really liked it despite my initial reservations of it being an "old style" battle rifle. Fast forward to deer season in northern Wisconsin last year - I was using a bolt action rifle with a scope, and we were doing a drive. I realized pretty quickly that if a deer did jump up within 50 yards or so, there would be no way I could get the rifle up, acquire the target, and shoot (and make a follow on shot if needed) fast enough to fill my freezer. I had been thinking of getting a AR or AK style rifle for 3 gun, and it dawned on me that the 7.62 (.308) is a respectable deer caliber. Thus, the M1A since it could fill both roles if I got a 5 round mag for hunting. I ended up getting a few 20 rounders and 1 5 round CMI mags. It came with a 10 round mag, which I really don't know what to do with.
So I did some research, and chose the Scout Squad since the barrel length is useful for range work, the woods of northern Wisconsin, and of course if the Russians ever parachute into my AO......