M14 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello al im new to the forum i joined because im taking a good hard look at socom or a scout to break into the .30 cal world. i know nothing other than ar15's and .223/5.56 ammo when it comes to rifles. so whats the thing to have for a real downrange effect on threats with 4 legs or 2? for example the heavy otm's are favored in the ar15 world for a good effect on target such as hornady 75g tap or a 77g smk. mk318 sot ammo is said to be good barrier blind round. but as far as what to try out in my future socom or scout for SHTF or even hunting i have the slightest idea of what to seek out. in other words, whats the good stuff? also, whats the relationship between .308 and 7.62 and which one is superior? and doesnt 30-06 come into play somewhere? any info on m1a ammo would be greatly appreciated! like i said, im new here and i know nothing.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Welcome, I am by no means an expert. Mil-Surp ammo is the way to go for target shooting and SHTF 147-150 gr. When you get into match shooting etc you will probally be looking at loading 168 and 175's, you have to watch your pressures or you will start bending or braking op-rods same goes with higher weight commercial ammo. I better stop talking I just had shoulder surgery and took a lot of meds, and I think I may be rambling and I dont want to give you bad info. There is definetely a wealth of info here, read the stickies on the ammo section it will give you a lot of info/warnings etc.. again welcome

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·