M14 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought some replacement light bulb sockets ( E12 candelabra bulbs ) for a ceiling fan light kit. They came with a cardboard looking sleeve around the socket?? Is this supposed to stay on the socket during use?

I thought cardboard and heat don't go together but anyway?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It stays to insulate the terminal screws. Yes I am a licensed electrician.
Thanks Brian

The socket is open in a open glass bowl so I really don't need it. Since it was made in %^&*( I wanted to make sure it was't going to eventually catch fire!

·
Registered
3,420 Posts
It stays to insulate the terminal screws. Yes I am a licensed electrician.
What Brian said and I also am a licensed electrician

Light fixtures have gotten extremely cheesy over the past decade or so, personally I really try not to buy anything electrical from”over there” way to much fakery and counterfeit UL products.

·
Registered
4,277 Posts
Also a licensed electrician.

The tube will prevent you from making contact with the terminals in case you decide to change the bulb with the switch on.

Not the recommended way to change a bulb, but people do.

Also, with that type of bulb holder the hot wire goes to the button, in the center, and the neutral goes to the shell.

Or if the screws are colored, the hot goes to the brass colored screw and the neutral goes to the silver screw.

What type of wire is used in the fixture?

In most fixture cables the neutral can be identified by a raised Ridge running the length of the cable or it could be easy and the wire is white.

·
Registered
2,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #6