M14 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off just let me say that yes I am a noob as it pertains to rifle building. My experience so far has been shooting and cleaning only. So if this question seems stupid..... ICONREDFAC
I have read some interesting comments on this forum pertaining to the unitizing of gas cylinders in NM rifles. From what I have read there are at least 2 different ways to do it. The screw and glue method and the welded method which is used by the USMC if I'm correct. If someone could explain the pros and cons of choosing one over another. Is it just which method the armorer happens to have been taught ?
I am collecting parts now for a LRB & USGI build as many of our members probably are.MCORPS1 I was hoping for some insight from a few of the resident experts on our forum as to which method they choose and why. I did do a couple of searches but did not find what I was looking for. Thanks.

·
Registered
558 Posts
If you use the screw method, you wont be able to turn the gas valve to off. Not a big deal, but you should be aware of that. With the weld method the valve will still be operable.

I dont think one is better than the other but Ive only had the weld method done in the past. However, the person doing the welding should know what they are doing. If the gas cylinder has been heat treated, its harder to weld hardened steel (or doesn't "take" to the welding as easily), but it is also harder to drill hardened steel as well, so its a toss-up...

You can, as a 3rd alternative use shim washers to tighten up the play between the barrel front band shoulder, the front band, and the cylinder. I believe Smith does this with their Crazy Horse builds. You can buy the washers from Smith as well...

·
Registered
18 Posts
If you use the screw method, you wont be able to turn the gas valve to off. Not a big deal, but you should be aware of that. With the weld method the valve will still be operable.