M14 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been going back and forth on whether I should build my own or have a smith do it for me. So, I figured I would get advice from all of you here.

First off, I have no experience with the M14, but I do have an M1. I have a CMP grade A kit that's currently being shipped. So, How hard is it to assemble the rifle if I order a barreled receiver and a bolt? Is it possible for me to determine if all the parts are within specs? Would a smith even bother checking to see if all parts are within spec?

If I assemble myself, I would need a gas cylinder wrench (I should get one anyway). Are there any other necessary tools I would need?

Thanks,
Sven

·
Registered
201 Posts
Dude a gas cylinder is just one of a lot of tools you would need to "put together" a M14. These rifles are not AR15's. You need to have some gun smithing skills and a lot of special tools to do it right. I am not saying you can't do this but a lot more research would be needed before jumping into barrelling an action. Good luck.

·
"Death From Above"
11,923 Posts