M14 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,503 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been going to some reduced match to get my feet and jumped on in yesterday. Other than M16 qualification I never shot over 300m. I shot it with my AR.

I shot 691 6x.

Standing 169
Siting rapid fire was 186 3x
Prone rapid fire was 189 3x
Prone slow fire was 147

I'm not one to make up excuses but I noticed that were a lot of other shooters that did so here is mine.
This is my first time shooting at 600 yards and I was doing OK. I had shot mostly 8s and 9s and a couple of 10s. Then a case broke off in the chainber. I thought that my day was over but my spotter grabbed a cleaning rod and help me get it cleared. I got back in to position but I went to sheet after that and shot 5s and 6s.

But the main thing is some of the most fun I've ever had with a rifle. I will be back next month.

·
Registered
1,550 Posts
Case head separation can happen, usually with reloads. Limit your match ammo to second firing of the brass only. You also will need to check you brass when reloading. If this is new brass/ammo, you should have a look at your headspace as well. I don't see this as much with ARs but I guess it can happen. I see it more often w/ 7.62 brass.

Before your match and maybe between courses you may want to swab out the chamber with a dry mop just to ensure a clean chamber.

Bruce

·
Registered
532 Posts
Yup saw that happen to guy this last Sat at a full XTC in Racine Wi. Same thing neck broke off in the chamber and he had to come off the line to reshoot his string. Didn't get how many reloads he had put through it but first time I have seen that with AR. I limit my reloads to 2 for match use then third is for practice or local comp , reduced course.

·
Registered
2,503 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Those are good numbers. What was your load?
My loads were all SMK
200 yds
69 gn
CCI 41
21.2 H335

300 yds
77 gn
WSR primers
23.5 H335

80 gn
WSR primers
23 N140

·
Registered
858 Posts