M14 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Banned
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an Armscorp receiver (M14NM marked) with an SEI Medium Length 1:10 chrome moly barrel 18" (NM marked), NOS TRW Gas Block and piston (unitized), TRW Op Rod and Bolt (also NOS), Sadlak Op Rod Guide, unknown spring, all mounted on a CM Manufacturing stock. I put it in the stock but I did not do any of the assembling or headspacing, although my gunsmith checked the headspace when I got it in.

Today was my first time firing it, got it off a board member here and have had it a while, just hadn't gotten around to shooting it, didn't think it would be a problem since my gunsmith gave it the thumbs up. It came in bone dry, so I put a VERY light coat of lithium grease on the bolt roller and receiver slides, put a VERY small amount of gun oil on the spring and guide (what I used to do on my Polytech), and took it to the range. I noticed when re-assembling the op rod that it took a LOT of compression force to get the guide into the channel... considerably more than my Polytech I used to have and when chambering a round it requires considerably more force.

At the range I started putting some rounds down-range and although she kicks like a mule, she has a REALLY smooth trigger (also TRW), no grittiness with a smooth break point, one of the nicest rifles I've ever fired, I was very pleased and at 50 yards I was putting them all in the bullseye iron sights from the get-go, happy camper, then suddenly, pulled the trigger and nothing happened. Look at the ejection port and stovepipe? really?

Hmmm,,, K. Pull the bolt back and see that there IS another round in the chamber, but the action did not cycle back far enough to eject the previous round OR **** the hammer, as when the stovepipe round fell out, I went ahead and released the bolt back forward and tried to fire it and nothing.