M14 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the new shooting range I've been going to is subject to considerably more wind than my old one. I'm still learning how to deal with shooting in it. Today it was brutal, and was reflected in my shooting at a 300 yard range.

Winds were a constant 10-15 mph with gusts to 25 or so. There were no windage flags but I noticed that leaves were blowing one direction at the firing line, and a complete different direction at the target. Sometimes wind would die down completely at the line, and but bending small trees just beyond the target. I know guys out in the southwest have it way worse, but I'm just learning how to deal with it.

I zeroed at 100 yards with 175gr FGMM. Sub-MOA easily with three separate groups of three from the M1a. However out at 300 it was a different story. I tried holding fire until wind died down, however it never really died down to nothing, and was not always blowing from the same direction. Shooting groups of 5, I'd get 4 shots with reasonable vertical dispersion (1.5-2.0 inches) with significant horizontal dispersion (4 inches or so) and one shot that was just WAY out there both vertically and horizontally. This was the case for almost all of my groups. The flyer round was usually about 3 inches high or low from the rest of the group and up to 6 inches off horizontally. Is this normal for shooting a .308 in the wind? Can a sudden gust cause it to be off this much?

The last time I shot at this range, I had excellent results, posting several <1/2MOA groups at that range and with the feeling of being able to put a bullet where I wanted to. Today was not the case. I also wasn't the only one shooting bad today. I found a couple .223 holes in my target from the guy shooting the AR next to me.

·
Registered
1,541 Posts
when you would get the flyers, would you get them drifting in the direction of the wind or the other way, or both?