M14 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all, I'm happy to be joining your community as I'm FINALLY picking up my first M1A (Springfield 22" Standard) tomorrow. I have many questions, but my first is this: What are the best scope mounts out there? This is my first rifle, and I intend to hunt with it, but I am very new to the sport. Are steel mounts worth the money? Or do aluminum mounts hold their own?

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
Welcome to the M14 type rifle.

Bassett or Sadlak. Yes steel is worth it. Aluminum is ok too.

·
Premium Member
329 Posts
I'm a arms fan...
Welcome aboard...
There is a good thread/poll in the optics section and there are a couple threads on page 2 of this section about sei and sadlak mounts.
Good luck

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
Thanks for the reply! So Basset is steel? Is there a reason it's so much less expensive than Sadlak?
Bassetts are aluminum. Not what it's composed of , but the amount of machining that goes into the Sadlak that increased the price. Totally different devices. Bassett for quick on off and Sadlak for a more permanent install.

·
Registered
3,670 Posts
If anybody weighs a basset picatinny, high or low, please let me know. I thought they were steel, but if they were aluminum, they might be a nice lightweight option for my swiss army knife rifle if I want to mount a night vision toy from time to time.

For regular scope mounting, I really like the Redneck Yankee DSM for a variety of reasons, though I think that the 'best' mount will depend on priorities. It seems like any of the mounts mentioned have worked well for somebody.

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
If anybody weighs a basset picatinny, high or low, please let me know. I thought they were steel, but if they were aluminum, they might be a nice lightweight option for my swiss army knife rifle if I want to mount a night vision toy from time to time.