M14 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What purpose does sanding after applying oil serve? I'm finishing a walnut M14 stock from Fred's with teak oil after stripping and coloring with transtint dyes. I'm on my third coat of oil and have wet sanded with 800 after applying each coat. All it seems to be doing is removing the color slightly, each time I sand it with no real change in surface finish. Does the wet sanding change the appearance somehow?

Thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
I'm not a stock finisher but I am a carpenter and have experience with walnut and other wood finishing. When you apply a wet coating like BLO or sealer or something like that the fibers in the wood at the surface stand up like tiny hairs, this is what you are sanding down, stock will get smoother and smoother and can be glossier. I personally like just a few coats of BLO and no sanding, makes for a flat or dull look, just my personal opinion, which I know you didnt ask for.

·
Registered
10,896 Posts
Wet sanding is used to seal the grain, as is done on hunting rifles to create a beautiful, durable finish. It creates a slurry, that is force into the open grain as it is wiped off in the direction of the grain.

It does not work well on stained wood, unless the stain is well absorbed into the wood and the first coat or two of oil goes unsanded.

Military stocks were issued with the grain left open, as it allowed for a better grip. The downside is that the grain eventually fills with dirt, lubricants, etc.

·
Super Moderator
3,396 Posts
The purpose is to apply the teak oil as the median and when you wet sand it creates a slurry (part wood, part teak oil) and as you lightly sand and let that slurry dry on the stock it begins to fill the wood grain. It fills the grain as it drys - and in the end when your done buffing and waxing you get a deep reflective, filled look.