M14 Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Thank you all for your help in advance!!

I have questions that have been brought up after buying serveral components for my M25 Build. I am a newbie to building M14's but I have a mechanical engineering background so I would like to do as much as possible myself. I understand there are some things I should leave to professionals, such as installing and timing my barrel if I ever want it to shoot sub minute and probably headspacing/lapping lugs. GI6 but for the most part I want to know I am assembling this thing correctly and not going to ruin the accuracy of this weapon.

1) LRB M25 Receiver is too tight to fit into the Sage EBR Stock? With the EBR upper handguard removed (the problem is not the rails keeping it from going down), there is about 2-3 millimeters of gap between the receiver and the stock. I have taken a plastic mallet to this thing with a little force and I can get it down to about 1mm gap. Then I have to pry it out with Delrin wedges and use a wooden dowel and drive it from the bottom! I dont know if this is a problem with the receiver or the stock, or if it is supposed to be this tight? I spoke to several people who said the Sage stock is supposed to be just a "drop-in" easy with minimal force. I dont want to rail on this thing and am wondering if I need to Lap the receiver to the stock? If the *super tight fit is normal, or will improve accuracy I am all for it, however I will have great difficulty ever disassembling the weapon again.

2) The LRB M25 Receiver Rail conflicts with the upper handguard EBR rail system. The solution that I have read is machining down the upper stock rail so that there is no conflict with the M25 rail. I am planning on chucking the rail up and milling it down. Problem Solved or is there a better idea?