M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I now have their TI piston and the enlarged mag release and the NM Spring guide.

The only thing that took any time was getting that larger Sadlak pin in with the spring compressed on that mag release. I ended up clamping the trigger group down so I could get it started

Now I just have to shoot it.

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
I have a loaded with the same mods, your going to be very happy with them. The large mag release is really cool.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Nice upgrades, have you done the gas cylinder shim kit. I'm gonna have to do it with mine. Can't seem to keep the gas plug tight.

·
Registered
5,747 Posts
im new to the M14, so you grease the spring? why
do you grease the spring guide too?
I do it since the spring is metal, the op rod is metal and the spring guide is metal. All that metal running over each other creates friction and wear. Some grease on the spring and guide helps smooth it out and maybe give the spring a little longer life span.

Nice upgrades, have you done the gas cylinder shim kit. I'm gonna have to do it with mine. Can't seem to keep the gas plug tight.
Have you tried torquing the plug to 15 ft-lbs?

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
I would shim the GC and put about 10-12 ftlbs on the plug and then shoot it !!!

Reactions: Alpha Wolf

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
Grease them both. How much grease you use is up to you but it's somewhere between a glob and a light sheen. I like to use a liberal amount on the parts your talking about without it getting messy.

·
Registered
467 Posts
The recoil spring rides pretty closely on the spring guide, and inside the operating rod, too. Since it is essentially the "muscle" of your rifle's action, it is the part of your rifle that moves the most... there's alot of metal going back and forth.