M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 109 Posts

· Registered
3,461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First let me say that I am not an expert material tester and have no certification in this field and am doing this strickly as a favor and for my own enlightnment as well as yours.
TRW back face 57.9 HRC
FA back face 40.5 HRC
TRW top near front 56.4 HRC
FA top near front 37.9 HRC

I have some others but I have decided that these are the most reliable. Most of the others of the FA bolt that seem fairly reliable are just under 40 HRC. My conclusion is that Thunders bolt is no where near as hard as a TRW. I am not sure what spec is for this if anyone knows for sure (no B.S., WAG-wild ass guess thank you very much) please lets us know.
Now I want to cut it up and make cross section specimens, but this will take time and is Thunders call not mine.
Oh, and yes I had to hold it steady for some of the test with my hand (probably not admissable in court) and that is not my hand in the pic but the hand of my furry co worker.

Edit: Anything below 40HRC is considered machinable with high speed cutters although it would be hard to do.

· Registered
813 Posts
Have not followed the site due to illness for the last few months; so I missed out on some things. Who makes the Thunder bolt?. I remeber Armscore use to make the Fulton Armory receiver to "Fultons" specs. Couldn't agree more about TRW bolts, a TRW bolt almost fit my Polytech with little modification.

· Registered
3,461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's not a thunder bolt it is Thunder's bolt. He is the one that bought it from Fulton.

Have not followed the site due to illness for the last few months; so I missed out on some things. Who makes the Thunder bolt?. I remeber Armscore use to make the Fulton Armory receiver to "Fultons" specs. Couldn't agree more about TRW bolts, a TRW bolt almost fit my Polytech with little modification.

· Registered
2,314 Posts
Doesn't Fulton supply M14 variants to the Army?

· Registered