M14 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Read Only
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to the m1a's, i took my gas cylinder plug out and tightened it using the combo tool but i didnt use the wrench. Is this bad? is there something i need to do to revert anything i did? Buying a wrench btw :)

M1a Scout

·
Registered
2,434 Posts
Yes

tightening the plug without using a wrench on the cylinder can warp and/or crack the cylinder, damage the splines or cylinder recesses, and causes variation in the amount of torque. In extreme cases it can bend the barrel. Either use a wrench, or place the cylinder in padded vise jaws and just 'snug' it, or in a pinch use a large crescent wrench. do not tighten.

·
Registered
11,263 Posts
I am new to the m1a's, i took my gas cylinder plug out and tightened it using the combo tool but i didnt use the wrench. Is this bad? is there something i need to do to revert anything i did? Buying a wrench btw :)

M1a Scout
That's exactly what the combo tool was designed for. Soldiers in the field only had the combo tool, no gas cylinder wrenches.

The important thing is to grasp the gas cylinder with your off hand, not the barrel or stock. I also recommend using an original USGI combination tool, not a copy.

The gas cylinder wrenches are certainly a handy tool and are a necessity when installing or removing the castle nut.

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
tightening the plug without using a wrench on the cylinder can warp and/or crack the cylinder, damage the splines or cylinder recesses, and causes variation in the amount of torque. In extreme cases it can bend the barrel. Either use a wrench, or place the cylinder in padded vise jaws and just 'snug' it, or in a pinch use a large crescent wrench. do not tighten.
I'm sorry, but bend the barrel????

·
Registered
3,804 Posts