M14 Forum banner

Remington 700 M24 / M40 Clone

1940 Views 10 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  ripcord
Did Remington ever make a USMC rifle clone in .223? 24" barrel, standard twist rifling?
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
1,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Two M40 Comm rifles? Huh?
Talking to a guy via telcon...says he has a Remington 700 clone of the USMC rifle in .223 with 24" heavy bbl. I have not seen the gun yet (Sunday meetup) but I'm no expert on the mil clones so I thought I would ask here. It probably is just a varmint special or some such, but as I say, I don't know them enough to say...hence my question.

· Registered
12,553 Posts
I dont know about a .223 version, probably a custom setup, but I was wondering about the 2 M40 .308 versions. I know Rem did one, I have one of those. I suspect Random Guy may be thinking of the Chuck Mawhinney rifles, but those are a custom build for CM and I dont consider them to be a Remington offering as they were built by a third party for CM.

· Registered
5,438 Posts
I suspect Random Guy may be thinking of the Chuck Mawhinney rifles, but those are a custom build for CM and I dont consider them to be a Remington offering as they were built by a third party for CM.