M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
4,237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total newb with this stuff so go easy on me....

I'm looking for a range companion in .308 for my M1A and am leaning towards the Remington 700 5R but also looking at the Savage 10 FCP ... for me the 700 gets a slight edge only because I like the looks of it a little better.

Any thoughts? Other stuff in the $1200-1500 and under price point I should be looking at?

Keep in mind that all of my past rifle shooting has been primarily hunting purposes other than range shooting with the M1A so I'm a newbie with the bolt target/range stuff.

·
Super Moderator
11,121 Posts
My vote goes to Savage for an off the shelf bolt action. If you just want the action, the 700 is better for custom building a true BR gun. I don't like how Remington quality has slipped in the last couple of decades.

The Savage is great for guys who want an off the shelf fantastic shooter on a budget. The barrels can be swapped with little effort and the right tools. It will be a solid, respectable rifle that will only fall short once you start reaching F-class shooting.

I have a Savage and love it. If I can ever stop dumping money into my M14's I will overhaul it into a great 300WM.

In the long run, you can't go wrong with either.

Tony.

·
Registered
303 Posts
If you want to start shooting right away Savage is the way to go. Mine is a .5 MOA gun all day long. I have shot it out to 1K, but regularly shoot from 600. Where I am at there is a constant left to right wind from 600 6-7 moa (36-42 inches) shooting 168 hpbt. I usually can keep it within 8-10inches at a 100 the goal is to always have all bullet holes touch.
Next long range rifle will probably be in 260 remington.

·
Registered
1,608 Posts
If I can ever stop dumping money into my M14's
Tony.
Blasphemy! Seriously though, that's my Achilles when it comes to working with other platforms as well, lol