M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Men,
I am relatively new to reloading (a little over 1 year) i have bought a new M1A Loaded Stainless for my collection and want to reload to feed it. i am familiar with the entire slam fire/fire out of battery issues. This has actually helped me understand reloading all that much better. I seem to understand why the issue happens and that is because a few things can be present:
1. Too soft a primer for the rifle
2. Primer flush or higher from the case head
3. Too little head space (cartridge not sized properly)

The questions I have are these:
I've not dealt with Go / No Go / Field head space gauges and would like some clarification on the 3.
I understand from some of my NRA contacts that the issue is WAAAYYY overblown and Springfield Armory shy's away from reloads as a liability thing, is this indeed the case?
If I control head space with the proper gauges (Wilson Head Space Gauge) and make sure the (WLR) primers are seated below the case head, should this resolve the issue for the most part?
Appreciate all you guys do and all you can offer.

Walt

·
Registered
6,941 Posts
Don't worry about the head space gauges for your new Springfield. These are more for builders and dealing with unknowns, like military surplus who knows where it's been and who worked on it issues.
Control your sizing operation with a Case Gauge from Dillon or Wilson. The instructions are clear and just about self explanatory.
Yes to your last question. I've loaded and fired thousands of rounds in an M1A using WLR primers, and I've yet to have a slam fire.
If you are going to use a ball powder, or not push the envelope where a magnum primer would be an unknown liability, CCI 34 mil spec primers might be worth considering for extra margin against slam fire.

Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
689 Posts