M14 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
966 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My latest M1 Garand has a rear sight apeture that wobbles. I have tried to adjust the "curve" of the sight cover (spring) but it does not solve the issue. I think the rear sight cover is worn out and no longer holds tension on the apeture. So, I will order a new sight cover.

My question, is there anything else I should check, or other parts that may beed to be replaced. To me, all other parts look to be in good shape, but I am no expert.

I just want to make one order, and fix the sight just one time.

·
Registered
5,679 Posts
If you can try more than one sight cover it'll help. No two of them seem to be exactly alike, no two sight bases are exactly alike, no two commercial receivers are exactly alike at that sight deck. You probably need more front lip. You can take a hard, sharp steel punch and a mallet to the front corners of the sight cover you have (remove it from the rifle, set it on a hard wood bench surface) and see if that helps. A stiff spring is your friend.

·
Registered
966 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If you can try more than one sight cover it'll help. No two of them seem to be exactly alike, no two sight bases are exactly alike, no two commercial receivers are exactly alike at that sight deck. You probably need more front lip. You can take a hard, sharp steel punch and a mallet to the front corners of the sight cover you have (remove it from the rifle, set it on a hard wood bench surface) and see if that helps. A stiff spring is your friend.
I tried bending it, and as soon as I re-install it, it looses the tension. I can remove the sight cover without the use of tools. I just think there is no "spring" left in the steel.

·
"Death From Above"
11,432 Posts