M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Rest in Peace
17,536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
How did I end up on the top of the toy box when I hadn't made it to the bottom yet?

When I had this custom made in the early 80s I had them do the longest blade & longest handle that they would do.
This guy stays on my MBR belt.

HH

·
Rest in Peace
17,536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

Had the serrations put on backwards because you have more control pulling then pushing.

HH

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
I really like the Randall blade shape of the No.14, No1, No5, etc.

For a combat knife I like the top edge sharpened.

But on a Hunting knife like my No 5 I do not want the top edge sharpened, as when gunnting it is too hard to keep it from cutting open the intestines.

I have used my No5 Randall quire a bit when hunting.
Also let me state that I was a Professional Butcher for a while [I put myself through college as a Butcher], and I still butcher all of my own game meat.

The wife and I eat wild game meat 3 to 5 times a week.

I also have a Randall Trout and Bird knive that has the back edge sharpened.
I shoot a lot of small game for the freezer/pot as well. I use the sharpened back edge to disjoint the bones, cutting through spines, etc, saving the main edge for regular cutting.

I have used Randall knives a lot for wild game preperation, both the Tool Steel and the Stainless Steel blades, they have all performed in a most excellent manner.

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
You have a Mod 18 blade with a Mod 14 handle.

The "teeth" on the top of the Mod 18 Blade were designed to cut through the skin of a downed helicopter, not to cut wood...

Now the Hollow handle of the Mod 18 does have some purpose for a "Survival Blade.
You can carry some "stuff" in it, but the main thing it is good for is to make a spear out of the knife, which would be useful for taking some game/fish etc...
At least in theory...DI2