M14 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few weeks ago I saw a Remington 700 R5 milspec in .308 at one of the gun stores I visit. Yesterday I went in and put some money down for layaway. In a month or so I will be bringing it home.

Now comes the fun part of deciding what to do about a scope, rings, sling, etc. I'm also thinking about having it painted black.

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
Good luck those things shoot real well. One day maybe I'll have one too.I'm still learning how to shoot a scoped rifle. I know what you mean by painting it. One of my M1A's and my AR are stainless and it looks okay on them but I do prefer a black bolt rifle.

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Remington R5

You lucky dog! Been looking at those for a while and trying to decide between it, a Savage, or an FN, Can't wait to hear a report.

·
Registered
3,363 Posts
I had one on loan with a 12x Leup target mounted with Badger goodies. Only mod was the trigger job. Didn't go out beyond 200m, but it did shoot inside a quarter at 200....I'll have to get the recipe on the handloads that came with it. 168gr is all I know.

I will have one one day as well. 1/2 minute pretty much out of the box.

·
Registered
12 Posts
r5

I have one ,bought it last july,that gun is scary accurate.Put a millet trs-1 on it.Using 168 gain ammo,dime size groups @ 100 yards,all day long.With harris bipod ,bench shooting.The xpro trigger is adjustable,but set from the factory @3.5 lbs,which is great.The most accurate gun I own.I highly recommend one.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Yeah, they really are that good. I've had one a few years now and it's hands down the most accurate rifle I've ever shot. I guess some of the high dollar customs might be better but couldn't be much better. I keep saying I'm gonna paint mine but haven't been able to bring myself to do it yet,lol.

·
Registered
674 Posts