M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I am a rookie to rifles and firearms in general. My profession is technology and working around fairly delicate parts so I am trying to feel my way around working on this rifle so I don't screw it up! I just mounted my new Sadlak Steel Airborne mount to my M1a (I followed their directions). Now it is time to mount the rings and scope to the mount. The rings are the rings that were supplied with the Valdada/IOR 1.5-8x26 35mm Tactical Illuminated BDC/CQB Reticule scope (http://www.valdada.com/product/a2655086-d6e1-4df9-ba34-42428d8b0c8b.aspx). This is most likely a dumb question but is there a rule of them where (on the rail of course but I mean how far forward or back on the mount) to mount the scope to start? I have assumed that it should go where you get the appropriate view and so your eye is safe from recoil.

I did some google searching but most of the answers were so generic. Certainly I could just go with trial and error but I figure you guys would have some good tips for a rookie.

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
The scope should ideally be placed at the exact location where it gives you a full field of view, yet will not strike your eyebrow during recoil - in all possible firing positions. As this is virtually impossible, you must find the 'sweet spot' where it gives you almost full FOV in all positions, yet is far enough forward for use in the prone position.

I probably didn't of a very good job of explaining that, but that's the gist of it. Think of it this way - bring the rifle to your shoulder with your eyes closed, then open them. You should see the full FOV, and the reticle shouldn't move if you shift your head slightly.

·
Registered
409 Posts
+1 on previous,