M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone out there have 2 Cents on the effectiveness of the 7.62x51 round as an anti-personnel round? To be more specific, other than making
a larger hole than 5.56 what makes the round more effective? I am not referring to distance capability but more the behavior of the round at
short to medium range distances.

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Does anyone out there have 2 Cents on the effectiveness of the 7.62x51 round as an anti-personnel round? To be more specific, other than making
a larger hole than 5.56 what makes the round more effective? I am not referring to distance capability but more the behavior of the round at
short to medium range distances.
Simple physics. Mass and energy expended. It's a bigger bullet therefore does more damage.

·
Registered
2,721 Posts
I am no ballistics expert and don't have 1st hand combat experience, but here are my two cents. 5.56 is very accurate and flat shooting, but when you use a 55gr .224 caliber FMJ round you are relying on the bullet to do something it was not designed to do necessarily. Tumble and fragment. This is what causes the terminal performance of M193. When it does this I understand it's very effective, but this relies on the construction on the individual round. Some times M193 does not fragment well, and it needs to hit it's target at something like over 2700fps to fragment. Out of the shorter (16 and 14.5") barrels and velocity can drop below this threshold at under 400 yards. If it does not fragment all you get is a .22 cal hole.

M80 (7.62) on the other hand has a lot more energy as the bullet is almost 3 times the weight and travels only about 400fps slower. M80 has about 2400 ft-lbs of energy as compared to M193s under 1300 ft-lbs.

Think of it, would you rather be hit with a whiffle bat slightly faster, or a Louisville slugger a bit slower.

7.62 just works, 5.56 is usually ok but add distance and it's no contest.