M14 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I need your help to finalize my M14/M1A decision. I'm a beginner firearms owner.. It took me several years to persuade my wife to buy a gun (we have two kids and she kept saying whe was afraid to have guns in our house...) I got handgun for starters (SIG P226 Navy) and now she agreed to buy one rifle for hunting/target shooting with our friend in a desert. Basically, I will use it for general fun target shooting with our friends (maybe some friendly competition shooting... nothing serius as to participate in any official competitions...), also want to take it hunting for deer/boar in California and Utah (with my father-in-law)... After spending the last couple of weeks reading all the different forums I finally decided on M14/M1A rifle instead of a bolt action... I think I will have more fun shooting semi-auto.. plus it seems soon CA will ban the last of semi-auto rifles that still allowed... So, here comes the main part (sorry for long post.. I want to make sure u know what my needs are and my background).. Here are my thoughts on the rifle selection: Initially I was thinking of getting Springfield M1A Loaded or NM... then I read that Fulton makes better rifles (forged receiver vs cast on SAs..).. then all the horror stories about SA quality issues as of late... which moved me more towards FA rifle.. At first I was thinking of getting Competition grade... then I read somewhere that all the NM parts based rifles are more accurate, but not as "durable" (or not last as long) as standard grade ones ... So, I finally decided that if thats the case, I will do fine with Service grade M14 from FA with chrome bore and NM trigger added... So, what do you guys think? Should I go for Competition M14? The extra $300 is not an object.. I just want the best rifle I can get but at the same time which last longer. Am I right about NM M14 being not as "sturdy" as regular ones? Or should I just get SA M1A loa