M14 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading. A guy at the range said that he substitutes all primers with CCI BR primers.

I thought load data was very specific and that all the components are working together and you should not change anything. Or if you do you need to start at the bottom and work back up for safety.

Are primers interchangeable? Will any large rifle primer work in the published load data. Or should you always use the primer published in the spec?

Thanks

·
Rest in Peace Federal
10,217 Posts
Although primers will fit in the same pocket and most manufacturers will switch, I wouldn't try switching primers made for a specific purpose. Some primers, for example, are softer than others and may contribute to other problems. For sure do not interchange regular primers with magnum primers. I hope this is what you were looking for, if not I'm sure there will be other replies.

-

·
Registered
9,144 Posts

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Federal is on the right track with his post. As long as the load recipe calls for a "large rifle" sized primer, you can alternate between brands and not have any issues in terms of pressures. Reloaders switch out all the time to find the one that gives the best accuracy with a specific load. However, there can be other issues to consider such as will a primer with a softer cup be adviseable if shooting the round in a semi-auto rifle. For the M1A, I think most reloaders shy away from Federal brand primers because they are so soft but I don't there are very many, myself included, who contend that you have to use CCI either. I've used Winchester large rifle primers for thousands of my M1A loads without ANY issues.

Very important to take note of what Federal said, if your recipe calls for a "large rifle", don't substitute "magnum large rifle" instead. Although both are the same size, the magnum primer generates more flash thus could increase chamber pressures.

·
Registered