M14 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is just my second thread on this forum so please bare with me gentleman. I have done a google search and have found some older threads that are similar but still leave me with following questions.

I currently have a pre-ban USGI Springfield in the factory Woodland Camo stock (SN# 046527) and am torn between using a Sage chassis or a USGI wood stock that was also acquired when I got the rifle. I have a few trips under my belt and with the stock iron sights in a low lit range it hasn't impressed me...but I am brand new with the platform.

Maybe the best thing is to shoot it as-is but I really wanted to preserve the camo stock and take advantage of what a modern platform's ergonomics and perhaps better accuracy. I can always go back to the original platform if I don't like the Sage...

I now have opportunity to acquire a "Sage Mod 1 EBR Chassis with Magpul CTR with riser, Tangodown grip and rail ladders" from a local fellow in a trade for a pistol I own. Now come the real questions:

1. I am assuming the my 1961 H&R USGI 22" barrel will fit the system (I assume this is a "standard" barrel profile)?;

2. Assuming the EBR comes with all the parts, screws, washers, etc. will I need to purchase anything else to make it work and/or is it safe to re-use the current parts?;

3. I have an ARMS low mount...can I still use it with the EBR Mod1 system?

4. How much weight will the Sage add versus the wood or synthetic?

Much thanks in advance for the advice of these kind enough to share their experience with a noob to the M1A platform!

A few photos just because most everyone likes them:

·
Registered
1,522 Posts