M14 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I want to thank everyone reading as I know what a wealth of knowledge forums like these are.

Some background on me. I have been reloading for bolt guns and pistols for 5 years and for my AR for 3 years. I follow published data and have not had a any problems. I am asking for your help here so I do to run into any.

I recently purchesed a m1a scout with an 18 inch barrel. I have several range sessions in with factory ammo and iron sights. I recently purchased a burris scout scope 2x7x32. I would like to utilize the balistic plex retical. @ 100, 200, 300, 400 and lastly at 500. Burris has listed the hash mark bullet drop increments at
100-0
200-3.1
300-13.5
400-30.1
500-55.3
Using the federal ballistic calculator I found I would need to achieve 2800 fps using 140 grain nosler custom competitions to closely match that bullet drop. Nosler listed load data for the 140 cc using Imr-4895 as 43gn-47gn max. @ 47 grains they are listing using a 24 inch barrel they are achieving 3005 fps. I know I might not get that, but would like to get close.

I do not want to damage my rifle and I am aware of the standard 41.5 ish charge of Imr-4895 with 165 smk, as this is what my brother uses in his standard with his sage ebr. But this will not match my retical.

At the end of the day I would like to know is this going to be to much pressure for the rifle? I am a bolt gun guy, so I dont worry about the gun as much. I look for signs of pressure with my spent cases. Has anyone had experience with this load and or scope? Does anyone have a load using a lighter bullet that would work better. My idea was to use a lighter bullet to reduce pressures and achieve the veloicity I need.