M14 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this has been answered before but wanted to get the latest info. Thanks for your patience!

Anyway, I am fairly new to the M14 even though I've had a Norinco gun for several years. I really haven't shot it much and have always been toying with the idea of getting it worked into a bush rifle. Now that I'm doing a little more research, I hear that the receiver may be too soft to mess with. On the one hand, we have Smith Enterprises offering a heat treatment. On the other hand, we have Fulton Armory saying that the Chinese receivers are as good as a real USGI part and only the bolt and trigger group needs to be replaced.

What has been your experience? Should I proceed with the build or sell the Norinco and just buy a Springfield?

Thanks again.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Tokarev,

Welcome.

You can always try the file test. Find an area on the receiver that is inconspicuous and see if a file can cut the receiver. If it does that is a clue that the receiver is to soft.

Regards

Ox

·
Registered
5,610 Posts
I've personally never had any problems at all with all the Chinese receivers that I have owned.

Theres beau coup Canadians with the Norincos and to my knowledge they have always had very good luck with theirs as well.

I would'nt hesitate with going ahead with a build on a Chinese receiver but then thats just my opinion ... :wink:

Six

·
Banned
611 Posts
My norinco has more rounds through it than most gi rifles have ever seen and it has never given me a problem. It is only the norinco receiver and I did check it once for hardness. I can't remember what it was but was right on spec.
Isn't it funny how just a couple years ago fulton armory and quite a few others were talking trash about norincos and polys and now they have done a complete 180?

·
Registered
5,610 Posts
Maybe some of our Canadian friends will jump in here on this as they have a whole lot of them up there.