M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm relatively new to shooting. I've been fascinated and interested by weapons of all sorts since I was a child, but only three years ago did I find myself in a financial position to begin building my own arsenal. I have a few and a couple more that I sold off for one reason or another.

My most recent addition is a Marlin Rio Grand in .45-70. I bought it with the intention of getting into hog hunting. Hoping to go to FL in December and bag some while I'm visiting my sister and her family.

My next purchase is either going to be a subcompact handgun (my P229 is a bit big for carrying in my coat pocket which I've learned is more convenient for me in the winter than waistband carry) or some sort of "battle rifle."

I prefer the M14 style for the more powerful cartridge and the traditional stock (I don't really like pistol grips on long guns,) but I may have to give in and get an AR for purely budget motivated reasons. Everyone on every other board has tried to talk me into an AR, so I joined your board to find out why the M14 is worth the extra moolah, lol LOL1

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
Welcome to the boards!

I'm not going to try and convince you what rifle you should get. You either want one or you don't. I became an M14 fanboy after seeing Blackhawk Down as a child, and it was my dream rifle until after my first deployment when I had enough money to buy it.

You can build an AR right now for about $500 (using slickguns.com for deals), and you won't find an M1A for that price anywhere. I've always preferred unique, special firearms over an AR.

·
Registered
8,481 Posts