M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8,680 Posts
I can't say either way without it being cleaned up, oiled and being provided higher resolution photos of the markings. Also does the base have casting peel??? Surface of USGI versions have machining marks and the later ones seem to be quite smooth. They're milled, not cast. There are a few late USGI cast versions but the NM/2A markings are screen printed on.

These are the late cast variety:

·
Registered
871 Posts
Zooming in with the I pad it looks like Hammonje's first and last pics. Now don't get me wrong, I'm new to these and was lucky enough to find a complete one last winter for my M1A .Others will no better after you scrub it up a bit. Dan

·
Premium Member
7,947 Posts
I have to say the pictures need to be much better before it can be determined if real or not. Please use a contrasting background and enlarge. Jasons pictures are ideal for identification.

Based on the pictures you provided, I'm thinking after market. Disclaimer:don't hold me to this.

·
Super Moderator
11,174 Posts
It looks good too me however I would like a close up with good light looking straight down on top of the ears If there are little circles L/R near the ears, that's from the casting/MIM and that's a repo base.

·
Premium Member
7,947 Posts
Phil, what leads you to believe this is legit? Look at the NM/2A and how its stamped nothing like hammons, nothing. Nothing like the one I have. I am almost certain based on the new pictures it is chinese or a knockoff from some other entity. The milling marks, look more like cast marks to me.

MTCs, YMMV!

·
Premium Member
4,880 Posts
I would love to have Hueygunner look at all the bases posted. IIRC what he told me is that the drawing calls for 1/16th inch numbers and letters roll marked onto the base,,,meaning that all letters and numbers will be in a straight line and equally spaced. Some of the above look like the characters were individually stamped.

·
Premium Member
7,947 Posts