M14 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been an FFL and SOT (Class III Dealer) for about 24 years. I live in a small town just northwest of San Antonio, Texas, called Helotes. That is Spanish for "corn." I graduated from West Point in 1969. I was issued an
M14 that I carried for my first three years there. The M14 was the first military rifle I qualified with. My gun business is named Alamo Professional Arms. My specialty used to be building and selling M16 rifles, but now all the full auto guns are too expensive to do much with. I got rid of all my M1A's about 12 years ago, because I went with all my rifles in .223 for a while. Now I am back into M1A's and Garands. I have a lot of experience with the AR15 and M16, as well as a lot of experience with suppressors (silencers), so if anyone has a question about any of that, let me know. I am trying to get back to knowing about Garands and M14's, so that is why I am joining the group.

My "real" job is I am a psychologist in private practice in San Antonio, Texas. I am also a full-time professor at Texas A&M University at San Antonio. They hired me on there due to my military background and degree in counseling. They are developing a program to train graduate students to get their Master's Degree in Counseling with a specialty in working with veterans and their families. The VA cannot keep up with the volume of veterans needing help for PTSD, TBI, etc. In 2014, we are opening a two story building called The Patriot Casa that will be devoted to offering counseling, tutoring, etc. to veterans and their families who are students at A&M at San Antono. There will be a good deal of publicity on this later as this is the first program to offer the specialized training to work with veterans and to have a whole building to help serve those who have served.