M14 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to understand all of the gifted knowledge that is being provided here on this forum but could I beg the experts to provide just a little more, please (I'll ask for more later!).

I have a standard rack grade m1a. I purchased a new wood stock and hopefully wood handguard. I would like to make it more. Having said that I know that there are many things that can be done:

Glass bed,
Unitize gas cylinder,
National match op rod,
National match trigger, etc,
New barrel?

Lets start with the first things.

I have bedded a mosin nagant m39 so I have some experience, but from what I read M1a/14's are tougher. Is there a pdf version of this process?

Gas cylinder. Shim? or Unitize?

I have read that alot unitize over shimming. However, I also read that SEI no longer unitizes but shims.

I think I should unitize - weld version? school me why I should go with the screw and glue method?

If I send the gas cylinder off to be reworked do I need to send the complete action? someone here mentioned that?

Can I just purchase a USGI gas cylinder and parts and send in for unitizing?

It was mentioned in one of the posts here to read one specific manual (military) that talks about bedding. Is there a pdf version of this document? link?

thanks in advance for your assistance.

KS Shooter

·
Registered
409 Posts
I think I should unitize - weld version? school me why I should go with the screw and

Both methods work well, but if you go with the weld method, you maintain the operation of the spindle valve. I have one of each and am happy with both. You dont need to send the whole action to have yours unitized just the gas assy. You can also purchase already done assy's from very talented people here using new manufactured or all USGI parts.

·
Registered
249 Posts