M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening Gentlemen,
Im new to not only this site but to forums and m1a's! I've been wanting an M1A for a year now and have been "lurking" this site for a few days.lol. I've been reading reviews and forums to pick up advice on which m1a to purchase. I am wanting the m1a to be my battle/hunting rifle. I understand some people are against having m1a as hunting rifle because of weight, but i see as a 2 for 1 and one in the same.

I want a NM (over the loaded model) for accuracy although I do not plan on competing. I will practice with the iron sites, but I eventually want to add a scope. My concern is the glass bedding. I realize I have to be extremely careful, but all info makes me feel like it will be ruined for adding scope or pointless since I'm not competing.

Should I consider the Loaded over the NM?

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,277 Posts
Stick to what you want, and can afford, otherwise you will be second guessing yourself.
If you want to work on the rifle to get to the National Match, get the loaded.
If you would rather not attempt the necessary upgrades yourself, get the NM.

·
Registered
10,742 Posts
The Army used scoped and bedded National Match rifles for hunting in Southeast Asia, so don't let that scare you away. The only difference is that bedded rifles need to be removed from the stock carefully and only when necessary. It's not something done in the field.

·
Registered
488 Posts
Welcome aboard. Maybe you need to get a bedded and an unbedded to start off. My first purchase was to buy both a Scout Squad and a National Match at the same time. You'll like them both if you can swing it. Shoot, share, and enjoy.

·
Premium Member
Honorary Forum Lifer
16,211 Posts
Welcome from SoCal!