M14 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm relatively new to the M1A crowd, but not new to firearms or internet forums. I finally purchased an M1A about a week ago, after wanting one since I was about 14. 15 years later I the empty spot in my safe is now occupied. I look forward to learning as much as I can about my new rifle & the rifle it was patterned from.

-Brian
ARMY1

·
Rest in Peace Federal
10,217 Posts
Welcome aboard, JeepinAZ, you mean to tell me that you only buy a rifle every 15 years, shame on you. MCORPS1 MCORPS1 I know that you will enjoy the forums and all that they have to offer. We're happy to have you with us, have fun.

-

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually, I have purchased several other firearms (and received others as gifts for graduation of both high school & boot camp) but the M1A has always been my "unicorn" so to speak. Always out of my price range or something. I just had a hard time swallowing the price tag. But last week I found a Springfield loaded with a walnut stock & it screamed buy me now, so I did. It took some financial wrangling, but I made it happen & after shooting it, it was well worth it. I knew this purchase was going to open Pandora's box though. Now that I have this one, I want more of them.

I have an early AR configured in A-1 style, and I had another lower to build a second one, but it sat in my safe for 3 years without any progress. I just wasn't interested in having another AR, they kinda bore me. I had a Remington 700 in '06 that I sold to lift my Jeep. It was fun & I originally planned on buying another one before I bought an M1A, but I haven't felt the urge to do so. I intentionally never handled an M1A at the store when I saw one because I knew I'd have to have it. With the current administration though, I figured I'd better get one now or possibly miss out for good.