M14 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
373 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hows it going every one, I'm new to the m14 but not to state of mind. From Michigan but stationed in San Diego. I've got a nice collection started out here and another back home. Checked out this forum right after i bought my m14 and couldn't be happier with what I've found . Here is a pic of what i have bought out here.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Welcome to California--good to have more shooters here!

You need to check this out:

http://www.calguns.net/caawid/flowchart.pdf

I think your M14/M1A is not in a California-legal configuration so you need to be cautious with it. As absurd as it may sound, we're talking felony here. There may be an exemption for military personnel, but be sure to check carefully before taking your rifle to the range.

Tim

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Wow thanks for the info i didn't realize that forward grip was illegal .
The California "assault weapon" law is so complicated that almost no one, including many police officers, fully understands it. I know I don't. So it's best to try to be squeaky-clean here. Most M1A shooters I know (including me) remove their flash suppressor and install a muzzle brake.

Also, be careful with your magazines. If you have any >10 round mags, you can make them legal by disassembling them. Importing a "high capacity" mag is illegal, but importing the parts for one is not. I am not making this up. Actually, given that our legislature is full of morons, we should at least be thankful that they are so moronic that they can't write a gun law that actually does what they want it to do.

Tim

·
Registered
2,519 Posts