M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!
Finally joined the forum, after lurking for a while now.
I'm new to the M1A, just picked up a socom16 a couple of months ago.
Played the AR game for a while, but always had my heart set on an M1a.
I've been reloading for rifle and pistol for over 5yrs now, with good, safe success, then along came the M1a!! I've loaded some rounds for it with no problems, all have functioned safely and properly, but man, I have a lot of questions, hoping to get some good help here.

I've loaded 168 gr Amax's over Varget, then read that varget may or may not be
suitable for the M1A, fortunately I stayed mild with the powder charge, and my rifle appear to be just fine...
Now, I've moved on to 150 gr SST's over TAC powder, again, staying mild on the charge weight, due to lack of info (other than burn rate) of this powder in this platform....
I've been getting decent accuracy, great reliability, and no pressure signs...

I'm basically looking for answers/recommendations on a good ball powder to run
Through my progressive press, for plinking ammo...
Velocity expectations?
What's a proper zero range for this weapon?
Crimp/no crimp?
Best magazines?
Best mods for the $?
Best brass?
Is varget safe in this gun?
Brass life?
And whatever else!!

·
Registered
3,147 Posts
Get a case guage to ensure your cases are properly sized. Some of us, ok at least me, found that my M1A must have had a tighter chamber than my previous .308 rifle chamber. Long story short, I flushed out an error in how low my sizing die was set and went on to lower it where it needed to be.

Advice here pointed me in the right direction.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys!!