M14 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I recently bought a SA Scout in the black synthetic stock and have fired the first few rounds through it and have some questions.

Admittedly, this is VERY EARLY in the breaking in and getting acclimated phase and something's will change several times before I'm satisfied with my Scout.

I bought it with the intention of scoping it and using it out to a realistic max of 400-500 yards.

At first I thought about using it as a scout style rifle and mounted a HiLux 2X7 -32 IER scope in the scout forward position. I started shooting it in but it only took 20 rds to decide I didn't like the combination.

So then I purchased a 4th Gen Steel SA mount, some Blackhawk 1" pic rings and mounted a Nikon Buckmasters 6x18-40 SF I had purchased for a 26" bolt gun. I installed the optional Easy Grip turrets and it has the mil dot recticle.

I took my time, read about the 4th Gen mounts, matched a couple of YouTube vids on how to mount. I made sure everything lined up, chased the threads of the cam bolt to make sure it turned free when finger tightening. All seems to go well and off to the range we went.

Set up at 15 yards on a clean sheet of paper, so it would be easier to locate the first couple of shots and then move the POA to the POI. fired first two rds, near centered, but low by 12". Dialed scope all the way down until it bottomed out, still shooting 2.5-3" low at 15 yards. Only took 5 clicks (1/8th inch clicks) to center on left to right. I've pulled out the instruction sheet in the scope and will re-read it tonight. Unfortunately, an afternoon frog drownder' of a thunderstorm came through and I was unable to move out to 100 yards to finish my zero. I won't be able to get back until next weekend.

I had planned to zero the Scout at 100 yards as most of the Nikon shot data seems to be built around 100 yard zeros and approximately 100 yard increments in the ranging.