M14 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Took my new SAI M1A Loaded 6.5 CM for its first trip to the range, and the second shot didn’t cycle the action. Troubleshooting revealed the gas spindle valve was gone! It was there before the first shot, as was the roll pin that secures it in place.

I’m not new to the M1A, this is the 3rd one I’ve owned. But I’m new to the 6.5 CM. This M1A was new out of the box, with no rounds through it other than what the manufacturer did, and my addition of a Vortex Viper PST II 5-25x50 FFP with EBR-2C Reticle in a M14.CA CASM scope mount.

Not sure if it was a roll pin failure or if the valve itself blew apart. I don’t know whether it happened on the 1st shot, allowing enough gas to chamber the second round as it popped out, or if it happened on the 2nd shot after being weakened on the 1st shot. I can only speculate at to whether it was a defective part, or maybe the manufacturer put the wrong spindle in by mistake. From what I understand, 6.5 CM gas pressure is quite a bit higher than .308 and 7.62x51 NATO, so the manufacturer undoubtedly had to adjust some specs of their gas system from the rest of the M1As on the factory’s assembly line.

I spent half an hour scouring the place for the lost spindle valve, but no luck finding it. It was a needle in a haystack among the ancient casings strewn around the sides of the rain-sogged firing line at my local gun club. Even a magnet was no help, due to the large amount of discarded steel casings among the brass.